Rudolph’s New Home

My dad loved woodworking, and had a full workshop in the basement filled will all kinds of tools, including a full-sized cast iron lathe, a large table saw and a full complement of other power tools and hand tools. He would spend hours down there creating all kinds of wonderful things, and I am very glad to own many of those things now.

Years ago he decided to make a wooden Rudolph to put in the front yard at Christmas, complete with a light-up red nose. He worked hard on it, and I believe it turned out quite well. It disassembles into pieces which makes it easy to store, and is also simple to put together.

A few weeks ago I was at my mom’s house and I suddenly remembered poor little Rudolph, who has not been put out for the holidays since my dad’s death. So I asked my mom if I could have him and to my sheer delight she said yes.

I am very happy to have my dad’s Rudolph proudly displayed in my front yard, as pictured above. I love him, and I hope everyone that sees him enjoys him as well.

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

