A Note From Last Year

As the four year anniversary of my father’s death approaches quickly, I’d like to revisit a note I wrote and posted last year on Facebook. I hope you enjoy it.

Gerald Schubert

My father was a wonderful man. I know my viewpoint is obviously biased, but anyone who ever met him would certainly agree with me.

At the time of his death I was single and not seeing anyone. I had two ex-fiances, and I was not really on speaking terms with either one. Even though the splits with each were not what one would call pleasant, BOTH attended my father’s funeral, and both showed signs of tears in their eyes. At the viewing, a lot of large, husky truck drivers he knew from his work came through to say goodbye and give us their condolences, and each one of those huge, tough and burly guys was crying the whole time, just as I am starting to while typing this note. That is how wonderful he was, to everyone he ever met. We discovered that day how many people he truly affected in his short 62 years of being on this Earth, and it was impressive to us.

He was a very loyal and trustworthy man who rarely missed a day at work and would give a complete stranger the shirt off his back if they needed it. He had a wonderful sense of humor, even in the worst of situations, and always made everyone around him laugh out loud no matter what mood they were in at the time. Oh, and he could impersonate Curly from the Three Stooges impressively well, making us roar with laughter until he would crack and burst out laughing himself.

He loved beer, football, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, and doing various woodworking projects in his basement workshop. He also loved the truck he drove at work (which my mom jokingly referred to as his mistress) and his pickup truck that he had wanted for years and finally bought in 2003, which is now mine. I love driving it, and I will not part with it until after it dies, and perhaps not even then.

One of his favorite things to do was go to the Perkiomenville Sale on any Monday holiday he did not have to work, and around Christmas he would start talking about us going on Memorial Day. He loved to look for wood carvings for my mom’s collection and any tools he could add to his workshop. We would often go out to breakfast together on the weekends and just talk and laugh. Oh, how I miss that.

It is so difficult to think about the fact that both my husband and my son never had the chance to meet him, although I know that between my mom, my sister and myself we will make sure they both know how wonderful a man he was through all of our stories, pictures and the few videos I have.

For those few of you on here who had the pleasure to know him, I know you miss him, too, and I’m glad you had the chance to know him. I wish there were more people like him in the world, though I know there is at least one man like him – and I married him.

Thank you for taking the time to read this note. I just felt like I needed to vent my feelings today.

I miss you, Daddy.

Leave a Reply

